Potts' Shots, Agape Golf

The Honda Classic – which starts Thursday as the first event of the Florida swing on the PGA Tour – brings a more storied history than many golf fans may realize.

Just in the past 10 years, it’s been won by major champions Todd Hamilton, Ernie Els, Padraig Harrington, Y.E. Yang, and of course last year’s champion, Rory McIlroy.

Prior to that, its trophy has featured the likes of Jack Nicklaus, Curtis Strange, Fred Couples and Vijay Singh. And its first two champions, back in the days when Jackie Gleason hosted it, were Tom Weiskopf and Lee Trevino, back in 1972 and 1973.

Tiger Woods came close a year ago, firing a final round 62 that nearly caught McIlroy. Woods eventually tied for second with Tom Gillis.

The field has gotten even more of a recent push by the redesign of the golf course by Nicklaus and his design group.

View original post 104 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s